Hey guys! - Reisverslag uit New Delhi, India van Tony88 - WaarBenJij.nu Hey guys! - Reisverslag uit New Delhi, India van Tony88 - WaarBenJij.nu

Hey guys!

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

02 December 2008 | India, New Delhi

As the main reason for coming to India was the voluntary work I do at the slum school I’d like to tell something about that as well. The school is located in the middle of a slum area in the very centre of Delhi. Every day I travel by public bus and metro for about two hours back and forth from my house in Kalkaji to the slum school. The journey is an experience in Indian culture all on itself, as I often find myself in overcrowded buses on the congested roads in New Delhi!
At the school I teach six classes a day varying in age, level of education and gender. In between the classes I help out people from the community and socialize with my colleagues and students. I feel fully accepted and appreciated by everyone and it will not be easy to leave the school in January, as it really feels like a place I have come to belong to. In the pictures you can see the construction of new classrooms as well as some of my students.
As of now I write this story from my house in Kalkaji, my unconcerned eating behaviour has finally resulted in me in getting ill and thus I am not able to work today. But that is all worth it, as I really get to experience the true India! :)
2 december 2008 (2 fotos)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: India, New Delhi

India

hey everybody!

Welcome to my webblog. For some of you this may not be the first time to read my stories via this utilty, for many it will. After having spent 4 months in Poland, having attended two summer universities in Italy, a youth exchange program for human rights in Romania, and many more journeys in Europe the time has come to take the next step. Wednesday the 27th of august I will leave for Delhi, India, in order to teach english at an elementary school in a slum area for about nine months. The international organisation Aiesec has made this possible and has matched me with an organisation called kalakhar trust (http://www.kalakartrust.org/). This non-profit organisation takes care of children who make a living by performing their skills as street musicians by supplying them with basic necessities like schooling. And that's where I enter the scene :)
The organisation is non-profit and is therefore not able to supply me with the vast salary I hope to earn somewhere far in the future ;) and for this reason I have already ploughed through the limited stock of funds at my savings account to cover the costs that solely the preparation demands. I have managed more or less now, so now all that is left is to get my final vaccinations, my visa and to buy the necessary stuff for the journey. What's more, I am preparing and thinking of ways to utilise my superb skills in this field ;) in order to teach these children some basics in this regard. Quite a challenge I say, suggestions how to achieve this are always more than welcome :D
Initially I was convinced that an internship as such, i.e. a development internship, does not match with western equipment like laptops and the like, and I was about to leave mine at home in dutchland. However, I have come to the insight that working six days a week in the middle of a slum area is already quite a change, and have therefore decided to take my laptop with me. All that's left is to hope feverishly that my future home will be equiped with internet access... If so, you will regularly be updated with my experiences in Delhi. If not, I will have to depend on the undoubtly shaggy computer to which access has been promised to me at work. May this unpreferred option turn out to be real, stories will appear with a significant lower frequency ;) The place i'm gonna stay at however may hold some western basic utilities, since the so called 'aiesec house' gives home to all the interns that via aiesec work in delhi. This means that, hopefully, I will be living with some interesting and cool people from all around the world. However, it's sensible not to get my hopes up to strongly in this regard.
For now, please sign up to the mail list, cause I am far too lazy to look up 200 email addresses and insert them in there ;) My first stories may be expected soon after my arrival!
Cheers,
Tony

Recente Reisverslagen:

09 Februari 2009

Last night in Delhi

05 Februari 2009

Part Five

05 Februari 2009

Part Four

05 Februari 2009

Part three

05 Februari 2009

Part two

Actief sinds 22 Dec. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 50
Totaal aantal bezoekers 8176

Voorgaande reizen:

10 Februari 2009 - 08 April 2009

China

15 Augustus 2008 - 09 Februari 2009

India

Landen bezocht: